AmCham Annual Awards Gala - St. Regis Astana Hotel, Astor Ballroom - Saturday Evening, June 1

Dear AmCham Members, Colleagues, and Friends,

The Annual AmCham Awards Gala that took place on Saturday evening, June 1 at the St. Regis Hotel in Astana produced fascinating results recognizing Member achievements.  With 73 Nominations, competition was intense.  The Awards Ceremony opened with Honorary Awards presented by the U.S. Embassy and by AmCham.  Live music provided a relaxing backdrop throughout dinner and the Awards Ceremony – a classic jazz program and an unexpected dombra performance to illustrate the Support for Kazakh Culture Award.

Two Masters of Ceremonies guided the Gala Presentations across the evening:
       ✤ Ambassador Nico Schermers, Ambassador of the Netherlands
       ✤ Andrei Mikhnev, World Bank Kazakhstan Country Director

The Winners in each of 13 categories were:

Honorary Awards

  • U.S. Ambassador’s Award for Best Contribution to U.S.-Kazakhstan Relations
    Kanat Sharlapaev, Minister of Trade and Industry of Kazakhstan
  • AmCham Public Service Award - Galymzhan Koishybayev, Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan

Corporate and Individual Awards

  • Executive of the Year Award – Thomas Jose, General Director, Beiersdorf
  • Women’s Leadership Award – (2 awards) - Assel Sadykulova, CEO, AVON; Anastassiya Pankrasheva, Manager, Borusan CAT
  • Most Innovative Education/ Training Award – Air Astana
  • Entrepreneurship Award – Johnson & Johnson
  • Excellence in Innovation Award – Eurasia Group
  • Environmental and Safety Award – Beeline
  • Health Protection Award – Pfizer Kazakhstan
  • Community Service Award (2 awards to large companies) – Citibank; Coca-Cola
  • Community Service Award (2 awards to small companies, NGOs) –
    Bulat Utemuratov Foundation; Chevron/ I Teach Me NGO
  • AmCham Service Award – Erlan Dosymbekov, Managing Partner, EY
  • Support for Kazakh Culture Award – (2 awards) – Haileybury School Almaty; Borusan CAT Kazakhstan (followed by a Dombra Performance)